Moments of Joy

Moments of Joy

The Poetry of Sister Jina, Chan Dieu Nghiem

Sister Jina van Hengel

$9.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

The first full-length collection of poems from contemplative Buddhist nun Sister Jina van Hengel, each short verse radiates the energy of a single moment of awareness.

Like a master gardener, over the years the revered Zen teacher Thich Nhat Hanh has cultivated a host of brilliant monastics in the Plum Village Community of Engaged Buddhism. Living simply and practicing deeply for many years in the French countryside, Sister Jina van Hengel is one of Plum Village's most beloved senior Dharma teachers, known for her embodiment of the teachings, her warmth of character, and her Zen poetry.

For readers of natural contemplatives in the vein of Mary Oliver, Thomas Merton, and, of course, Thich Nhat Hanh, these poems teach us to savor everyday life with awareness and gratitude.


Author

Sister Jina van Hengel:
Known for the depth of her insight and her gentle, illuminating teaching style, Sister Jina was ordained as a Zen nun in 1985 in Japan. She received full ordination as a bhikshuni as well as authorization to teach from Thich Nhat Hanh in 1992. Sister Jina, who served her monastery as an abbess for 16 years, is deeply beloved in the Thich Nhat Hanh community for her profound insight and her embodiment of Zen teachings. Moments of Joy is the first full-length collection of her contemplative poems, each short verse radiating the energy of a single moment of awareness. Rich in images from the natural world, Sister Jina's poetry also expresses a keen sense of emotional honesty.

Info

Reviews